top of page

New Year.. and yet, when did I become obsolete?

Recently (uh... it's been 2 weeks into the new year.. how recently can this be?!), I've been having the same conversation over and over again.

I can't quite remember whether it's me trying to explain how the art hierarchy works to someone or I'm just speaking to myself loudly to clarify thoughts. (Most likely the latter)

This is what I've come up with:

I'm not at the top of the food chain. The art food chain. Yes there is one.

Let's face it, I just don't understand how to paint. 👩‍🎨🙅‍♀️

As a matter of fact, I don't understand a lot of things.

As I dig deeper into this research, what was already blatant fact is now glaring at me day in day out.

So because I make installations, I have lesser value?

How does that work...

What about the way I see the world?

Doesn't that have value?

Surely just because I'm not a painter that shouldn't work against me.

And if this is the case, why?

Who came up with these rules.

More importantly, why?!

 

As I go down the road of discovery to examine a lot of the questions I ask not only here, but also within my research, I am starting to realise that categorisation and putting things into boxes makes life a lot easier.

Is it all encompassing?

Nope.

It however, gets the job done.

As an artist, I understand the necessity of challenging the landscape and opening new dialogues and to be engaged in topics.

As a researcher, it is of utmost importance to be clear and definitive so readers and reviewers simply understand what you're on about.

So what does this have to do with being an installation artist and not being at the top of the food chain?

It's a two fold answer to that question.

1: It helps to be categorical/structured in order to have some sort of system in order. (I use the word order here very loosely)

Mainly it's for bureaucracy, policy makers, people who look to pigeon whole things to make some check list. ☑️

Look it serves some function from the functionalist point of view.

Not that I'm a functionalist. 🙄

Because I'm not.

2: Value is inherently created. Value is intangible.

Which means, currently the value on installations are loooooow.

Why?

There are many reasons:

People don't get it

People don't care for it

It's expensive

It's misrepresented

It's not easy to sell

It's not easy to store

I'm going to stop before the list goes on for too too long.

I guess it's a good thing I know this? Maybe? Maybe not...

At the end of the day, I can have the generic convo of :

you make installs because you love it.

uh... ☑️ 🤨

Moving on.

The situation is frustrating.

And it's a chicken and the egg scenario.

I guess my obsolescence is a catch 22.

CATEGORIES
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page