top of page

Maybe not...

Every so often, Vancouver shows rather internationally famous artists.

This time round, Takashi Murakami had a solo show at the Vancouver Art Gallery (VAG).

To be honest, I only found this out via Instagram and was surprised that Van was showing the famed Super Flat artist.

Though to be honest, again, I'm not quite sure why I was surprised as I had gone to the Monet show in the summer.

If Monet is at the VAG, why can't Murakami be?

Logic?

Nill.

As per usual.

Here's the thing with the VAG.

It's pricey to get into the building.

(It's 24 CDN + tax to get in)

Indeed, I could wait for Tuesday eve for the donation evening and queue tirelessly alongside everyone trying to get a glimpse of the paintings.

But I don't want to.

Queuing in this arctic chill with blitzing ice drops is definitely loosing out to yet another attempt at one of my draft chapters.

Sorry smiley flower faces.

When it comes to making the pilgrimage to patroning/supporting cultural institutions, what's the sequence of mental deconstruction I go through.

How do I pick and choose the shows to go and see.

Is there some sort of logic to the madness?

Or is it all personal opinions.

🤔

Defo a blend of the two, I hope, I think?

Obviously when it comes down to massive retrospectives, it's a must to pay respects.

Then there are the installation shows or sculpture shows, and cult classics?

This is definitely sounding rather biased.

I ought to look into this power of deduction with exhibition selection at this point.

To be fair, when it comes down to it, I would say that the major factor is having to pay.

You see, most cultural institutions charge quite a fair amount (yes yes, I understand it goes back into funding the arts and cultural structure).

It is tricky to justify, be it $24 CDN or £16 or $25 USD.

So there you have it.

For me, it comes to having to justify giving back to the cultural infrastructure.

To a system I work in, none the less...

Wow talk about self reflection and borderline judging myself on these hyper biased decision.

Self judgement aside, Oh Look!

There's something on the dome.

Surely that counts as having seen at least part of the exhibition?

😬

Also, I stood on the steps to look at the tentacles.

I have indeed surpassed my judgement and have validated my patroning the arts.

Look it's almost like I'm leaning and doing a stretch whilst examining the printed vinyl.

Me and the guy to the right (I don't know him) are both in awe with the scale.

CATEGORIES
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page