top of page

Survey Design

Just as you think you understand what or how to do, you are wrong.

Well, I'm wrong.

That's pretty much me everyday.

Indeed, it's been a full year of reading and writing.

And no, it hasn't gotten easier.

Though on the days I feel as though I've gotten a grasp (as misleading as they are) does make me feel like it's easier.

But nope.

The struggle is real.

Oh ever so so so real.

To add onto the realness, or the struggle, I thought it would be smart to be overly prepared for my second year.

As the duration of this PhD is 3 years, my second year is dedicated to data collection.

Which means, as I have been told, the actual research portion of this degree.

This is the time when I test out whether my hypothesis are supported.

So? What do I have to do?

To be honest, I'm not quite sure.

I've chosen my methodology a while ago, as in half a year into the programme, and I've attended modules to ensure I "understand" how to do it.

Let's be clear.

I still don't know how to do it even having read up and attended modules.

So here goes nothing.

Methodology: Survey

Method: Quantitative

It's only writing a whole bunch of questions right?

Uh no...?!

How I wish that it's as simple as throwing a bunch of questions onto a page and hoping for the best. (It obvs started off with that thinking)

Once I broke down exactly what I was trying to test out, before I knew it, I had spent a whole day on it, with 5 spreadsheets trying to map out how to write and sequence the questions in order.

And then I died...

Because, I again realised how large this project is am madly overwhelmed by it.

Utterly defeated, by a lot of questions.

Which seems redundant.

So I did the most British thing I knew.

Did it help?

Not really.

It's sort of all I could do as dillydallying would make matters so.

So long as I was chugging along, I'd feel as though I could eventually get to the end of it.

And I did.

After 3 months of it.

I will never look at another the same way again.

I will always appreciate the amount of time some intern put into designing it.

Because it is hard hard hard work.

CATEGORIES
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page