top of page

Black & White

Hmmm it seems as though I’ve crawled back into the comfort of seeing the world in black and white.

What’s wrong with black and white?

Absolutely nothing.

It certainly does make for some beautiful typography layouts, it's just a little polarised and not to mention it's quite taxing on my mental wellness.

Yet, as of late, and probably because of the nature of the research, seeing things in black and white makes things a lot easier.

Of course, let's be clear, categorising things and placing it into silos, so in other words black and white, is a blunt tool.

By no means am I justifying the way I see the world or better yet, respond to the people around me.

However, my friends are very understanding and accept that my black and white world is just the way I will be until, hopefully, I finish this degree.

 

I find that I no longer am able to see the variants of grey nor am I able to see the goodness in things. It does indeed sound extreme and perhaps to harp on this point again, when I'm reading, writing and analysing there is little to no greyness.

Extracting information and fitting it into the sections requires a set of eyes which either "yes it fits" or "not it doesn't fit".

So when is it an appropriate time to see things in a certain way?

Will I ever be able to jump in and out of seeing tones of grey and also black and white so I get a micro and macro perspective?

No idea.

Maybe it's not that big of a deal.

If that's the headspace I need to be in in order to finish this degree.. I'll either have alienated all my friends, or I'm going to have to take a breath and take that leap of faith to see things differently.

Fingers crossed if won't be damaging to the PhD progress.

Or maybe, it'll add to it.

CATEGORIES
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page