top of page

Choosing the Supervisor

This post might seem out of order/sequence from the previous one, but, it wasn't until I had started the programme that my supervisory team was fully completed. I have three supervisors. As my research falls under business, cultural sustainability, and the arts, I, being the greedy keener that I am, felt it made sense to have a supervisor from each of the sector. So, I got one for each sector. I also didn't really choose two out of the three supervisors. Apart from being lucky and speaking with my lead supervisor to ask a lot of questions about where and if I would fit into a PhD, the other two supervisors were suggested to me. Which sort of works out. A little too early to make any conclusions on this.

Fundamentally it seems like a smart/logical/pragmatic decision to have an expert in each of the related field, but I can't help but feel at times that there are too many hands in the cookie jar. Not everyone responds to communication (when I want them to). Not everyone has a schedule which allows for me to meet with them individually or as a group (when I want them to). Most annoyingly, not everyone seems to have the same commitment level (when I want them to).

Evidently I am needier than I'd like to admit.

Also, to be perfectly clear, since I'm not 100% entirely sure what I'm doing, I don't know how each of them can really help me. (Because I don't really know how to friggin' help myself.) I've been assured that with time this will all become clear. That said, I am in constant communication with my lead supervisor as he will be the one who signs off on my progress, shows up for my milestones, and from what I can gauge, tells me the honest blatant truth when I'm failing but at the same time holds my hand and tells me that everything is going to be ok and that I'm not as useless as I think I am.

Action: choosing at least one supervisor. Hopefully a good one who is on the same page as you and is willing to fight your corner when necessary.

Task: get it together.

CATEGORIES
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page